Salve

No
I replied
When you stood so close
Asking me to look at you
Your finger a spot of warmth
Under my chin, tilting my head
No.
I cried, eyes closed and moist
Your gentle request denied
But why? Your voice low
Betraying your thoughts
When I turned away
My arms wrapping around my body
An effort to hold the
Threatening shards of my broken heart together,
Duct tape of self preservation
tears (4)
Because, I whisper, your embrace
A salve to my aching soul
I just got you out of my eyes
All I could see is you
If I look, you’ll never leave
You said
I am home
HMM
Death Maiden
HMM_the_twisted_path_group

4 comments on “Salve

Leave a Reply

