Abandoned

The road was long and dusty, winding around each corner like a snake and I could feel my car choking on the fine film of dirt in the air. I initially thought I had taken a wrong turn but around every bend I got the strangest feeling of déjà vu. It was like a memory in the back of my mind, nagging, like something from my childhood I had tried to block out. As the miles went on I grew more apprehensive but I couldn’t turn around. Morbid curiosity wouldn’t let me.

ABANDONED 9

I hadn’t passed house or any other type of dwelling in over an hour and as much as I felt I needed to continue I was about to the point of giving up when I saw something over the next hill. It was still far off in the distance but it looked like some sort of tower, possibly a radio transmitter, so I kept going. It was like a magnet pulling me forward, closer and closer. And then I saw it, and it was nothing like what I had expected. As I rounded the curve before it I saw an old faded sign lying on the ground to the left. I couldn’t quite make it all out but I could see two words: “Amusement Park” and an arrow pointing straight ahead.

abandoned 1

Directly in front of me on both sides of the road I saw all manner of old amusement park rides in various degrees of decay. There was no one around so I pulled over just past the sign and got out of the car. The tower that I had seen in the distance was actually the steep slope of a roller coaster where most of the track on the downhill side had broken off. All of the cars were faded…some lying on their sides on the ground, others still attached to the parts of track that miraculously remained upright. The old ticket office was directly in front of it, the faded picture of a clown staring at me from the top of the building. Something about the clown’s face was unsettling but I shook it off and walked forward past the coaster.

abandoned 3

A Ferris wheel was next, and the only thing still standing were the supports…the wheel itself was lying flat on the ground. On the other side of the road there were several other rides…a carousel, bumper cars, fun slide, scrambler, and others that I could not quite make out.  All that was left were their skeletons, lying around like the bones of some great dinosaur that had exploded.

abandoned 6

Walking on I came across several other buildings, the biggest I could see was the Funhouse. As soon as I saw it an overwhelming feeling of dread came over me. Something about this place was familiar but I couldn’t quite figure it out. It was all I could do to tear my eyes off it and turn to the next structure…the freak show tent. The banners were so old and faded I could not make out any of the attractions, but it was almost as if I could hear singing coming from inside. I had to get away. Something was not right. I noticed a movement out of the corner of my eye in the direction of the Funhouse.

abandoned 2

Every cell in my body screaming at me to run but I was glued to the spot. The next thing I knew I found myself standing in front of the Funhouse door.  How did I get there?? My finger touched the doorknob and it was like I was transported somewhere else. Visions filled my head…horrible, evil things. I began to scream as my hand melted into the doorknob and I heard the evil laugh of the clown, his face filling my head as I began to dissolve and became a permanent part of this terrifying place.

abandoned 8

And I’m still here, waiting. My turn is coming soon. Will it be you?  No one knows…but the tower is the beacon that will bring them here.

the queen of hell

THE QUEEN OF HELL

TTPG edited-1

The Orphan Killer 2 Bound x Blood Created by Matt Farnsworth ©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
The Orphan Killer 2
Bound x Blood
Created by Matt Farnsworth
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC

Matt Farnsworth on Facebook   Matt Farnsworth on Twitter Matt Farnsworth on Instagram

“The characters Marcus Miller, and Babysister are owned by  Matt Farnsworth”
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

