Unmasking The Truth: Blast From the Past

Author Note: Again own nothing, giving credit to the writers of the episode “Rose” for using some more dialogue, I hope you enjoy this. I’m thinking of having my OC run for president…it could work…right?

“One day at a time-this is enough…Do not look back and grieve over the past, for it is gone; and do not be troubled about the future, for it has not yet come. Live in the present and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.”- Ida Scott Taylor

I felt Rose’s eyes on me as I shucked out of my dress, carelessly tossing it to side of the room. I wasn’t too concerned about covering myself  as I changed in front of her because A.) She was a of the same gender as me and B.) call it performing a show of faith, as I was allowing her to see that I didn’t have any hidden weapons on me.

The one time I leave all my shit in the damn car.

Reaching for the jeans, I decided that now was as good a time as any to get some answers, seeing as Trevor was off doing some more sun-proofing, leaving just me and Rose completely alone for the time being.

trevor-rose-vampire-diaries-19005085-600-400

“Can I ask what you plan on doing with us?” I asked softly, watching as Rose toyed with her bottom lip before answering.

“Originally, we were planning on using the doppelgänger as a bargaining chip to buy our freedom from Elijah. But now that we’ve stumbled across you; well, you’re the selling point.” She said honestly as she handed me the white tank top and black jacket.

“Why do you need to buy your freedom from Elijah?”

I started to feel more like myself as I slipped on the top and jacket, and not like some damn doll  about to be put on display when I was wearing that ridiculous frock. I side-stepped around Rose, moving to the partially broken mirror that was supported by the wall as it set upon the dresser. Releasing the bobby pins that secured my hair into place, I ran my fingers through my chestnut locks to smooth them out.

Now…I felt like myself.

81688b07a3b971a0be7a51f9f8c33bb4

“We’ve been running for over five hundred years because of Katerina Petrova, or Katherine Pierce as you might know her.  When she went missing, Elijah entrusted Trevor to be loyal enough to bring her in.He trusted her, and Katerina toyed with his emotions, using her wiles and natural given talents to obtain what she wanted. It’s a mistake we’ve spent five hundred years regretting.” Rose said, her voice sounding full of remorse and pain.

Well, now that made sense. While Katherine shared the same innocent looking face as Elena; her personality told a different story, of self-preservation. A story of those poor souls that were misfortune enough to come into contact with her, willingly offering their assistance.

“Yeah, I got the feeling that screwing people over was sort of her M.O. Now, you mentioned that this ‘Elijah’ was or is my husband, but how is that possible if I don’t remember him…or you for that matter.” I turned around, leaning back against the dresser. “I have this overwhelming feel I know you, that you feel familiar, but I…I can’t seem to make sense of it.”

“How do you mean?” She asked curiously.

“Well, my adoptive brother has this ridiculous sounding theory.” I snorted as I recalled our previous phone converstation.”His theory is about this dream I’ve been having continuously for the past year might actually be a memory that my brain is trying to recall. He thinks it’s plausible that someone tampered with my memories, though I don’t have the first fucking clue as to why.” I shrugged.

I cast a glance towards Rose, watching her face contort as she processed what I had said. Then in a flash, anger flooded her face.

“Klaus, it had to have been Klaus that did this to you.” Rose realized, her brain trying to fit the pieces of the puzzle together. Confusion swept across my face as I arched an eyebrow at her, pleading with her to explain her statement. “You and Elijah were married in the late 1400’s. Klaus, who happens to be Elijah’s brother, thought that by loving you, you were essentially rendering Elijah weak. He must’ve compelled you or had one of his witches do a spell on you.”  Her voice took on a harsher tone as she spoke of this ‘Klaus’ character.

133-tvd-2x19-klaus-theoriginalfamilycom

“Okay, but that doesn’t explain why you looked so stunned when you saw me. How do you know I’m her?”

Rose flashed in front of me, reaching for my necklace. She grasped it, tugging on it with enough force that the chain fell apart. I gasped in shock as I watched it fell into her palm.

“Because he gave you this the night of your wedding. There were only two people, aside from you and him that knew about it; the priestess and me, your witness. When Klaus put the pieces together, you vanished without a trace. Elijah confronted Klaus, demanding to know what had happened to you, and that’s when Klaus told him that he killed you.” Rose spoke, her voice filled with confidence. It wasn’t the cocky kind of confidence, but more of the ‘ I know this for a fact’ type.

My head was swimming from all of this information. I wanted to believe it, I really did; hell my gut was even telling me that she was being truthful, but my head was still skeptical. I needed to be 100% sure before I bought what she was selling.

“How can you be so sure that I’m her? For all you know, I could be a reincarnation or another doppelgänger.” I challenged.

Rose looked surprised that I would ask for more proof from her, as if the ring and her words weren’t proof enough. Her look changed as a smirk crept upon her lips.

“The Alixiah Mikaelson I knew had a cluster of freckles located on the front of her left shoulder in a downward spiral formation.” She informed, her smirk growing even more when I moved the left part of my jacket, revealing the same mark in the same location, right where she had said…in the exact same formation as well. “I knew it.”

I opened my mouth to argue but was cut off when Trevor burst into the room, seeming to be on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

“He’s here! This was a mistake.” He shouted, pacing back and forth in front of us.

Out of the corner of my eyes, I saw Elena peek her head around the corner of the doorway, giving me a relieved smile as she saw that I was alive and well.  Rose stalked over to Trevor, placing her hands on his shoulders to stop his fervent pacing.

“No, I told you I would get us out of this. You have to trust me.” She tried to reassure him, but it seemed to fall upon deaf ears.

“No! He wants me dead, Rose!” He argued.

“He’s going to want her more.” Rose assured him, pointing to me.

Elena shot me a questioning look at Rose’s statement as I shrugged my shoulders, acting as if I had no idea why she would say something like that.

“I can’t do this. You give her to him, he’ll have mercy on you, but I need to get out of here.” Trevor pleaded, his voice trembling with fear.

“Hey! What are we?” She asked sharply, hoping that would pull him out of his madness.

“We’re family….forever.” Trevor said, silently repeating the mantra over and over again, as if to convince himself that everything was going to be okay.

In the distance, a loud knock echoed through the house, causing Trevor to almost hyperventilate with fear.

573614_1288988527494_full

“You’re scared.” Elena stated from the doorway, earning a scowl from Rose.

“Take her back to the room. Stay with her and don’t make a sound.” Rose ordered, pushing Trevor towards Elena as she grabbed my arm, pulling me along with her.

As we entered the foyer, the front door started to open. Panicking, Rose quickly shoved me into a side room, which turned out to be the kitchen. Rose threw me a quick glance, silently begging me to stay quiet.

I looked around the degraded kitchen, seeing if there was any place where I could watch what was going on. I happened upon a small hole in the wall, located next to the barely hanging on swinging door. From this position, I could see into the empty room next to me, through the doorway of that room, I had perfect line of vision to the front door.

The man standing on the porch was absolutely stunning, wearing a well-tailored suit in black with a tie, his brown hair styled perfectly. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a well-dressed man.

Elijah_Mikaelson-Antihero

(*This part is told in third person*)

“Rose-Marie. Is there somewhere we could talk?” Elijah asked, his hand still holding onto the doorknob.

Rose nervously approached, making Elijah smile to himself; taking great pleasure in her fearful demeanor.

“Yes, in here.” She gestured to the sitting room on the right (depending on what way you are looking at it.) “You have to forgive the house.”

Elijah entered the house, glancing around as he smirked, knowing that it was their fear of his wrath that had driven them to such desperate conditions.

“Oh no, what’s a little dirt? I completely understand.” He entered the former sitting room,with Rose reluctantly following behind him.He shifted his eyes about the room. “So tell me, what gives you the courage to call me?” He asked, not wanting to dawdle with idle chit-chat. He was summoned for a reason.

latest (1)

“I wanted my freedom. I’m tired of running. Are you in a position to grant me that?” She asked, hoping beyond hope that the odds were going to fall in her favor.

Elijah walked up to unused fireplace, nonchalantly inspecting the dust-covered mantle.

“I have complete authority to grant pardon to you and your little pet, what is his name these days? Trevor. If I so see fit.”

“Katerina Petrova?”

Elijah turned around, facing Rose. The expression on his well-defined features told Rose that she had piqued his interest when she spoke the name. He moved from where he was standing to the musty chair that sat against the wall, taking a seat.

“I’m listening.”

“She didn’t burn in the church in 1864.”

From his seat, Elijah looked up at her expectantly.

“Continue.” He encouraged.

“She survived.”

“Where is she?” Elijah asked, leaning forward in the chair. Rose thought there was something odd about his behavior, Katerina had been on the run for many years…she figured he would at least be interested in any information pertaining to her whereabouts.

“You don’t seemed surprised by this.” Rose caught on. It seemed as if this wasn’t going the way she had hoped, but she knew she still had two more aces up her sleeve.

“Oh, when you called and invited into this armpit of civilizations, which is a mere three hours away from the town we know as Mystic Falls, I surmised it had everything to do with Katerina. Do you have her in your possession?”

“No, but I have better. I have her doppelgänger.”

Rose couldn’t help the tiny smirk that slid onto her face at Elijah’s surprised look. Now she was getting somewhere.

“That’s impossible, her family line ended with her. I know that for a fact.” Elijah argued, leaning back in the chair.

the_vampire_diaries__elijah_mikaelson_by_dimakosrou-d6kbomd

“The facts are wrong.” Rose insisted.

“Well, show her to me.” Elijah challenged.

“Elijah, you are a man of honor, you should be trusted, but I want to hear you say it again.” Rose pleaded as she took a step toward him. She wanted to ensure that he would pardon them before she brought out the big guns.

“You have my word that I will pardon you.” Elijah assured her. Rose nodded her head in acceptance. Elijah moved to stand up, but stopped when Rose brought her hand up to halt him.

“There is one more piece of information that I think you will be very interested in.”

“Oh?” Elijah perked up, giving her his full undivided attention.

“We’ve found her.” Rose said cryptically. Elijah looked at her in confusion, wondering if she was talking about Katerina again.

“Found who?”

“Alixiah.”

As soon as the name left her mouth, Elijah was on his feet in a flash. Rose found herself against the wall, with Elijah’s hand wrapped tightly around her throat.

Elijah was having a hard time keeping control of his emotions, he was known for being level-headed, thinking things through. But when it came to the subject of Alixiah…that was a whole other story.

“You’re lying!” He growled, increasing the pressure on her throat. “You know as well as I do that she’s been dead for five hundred years, Klaus saw to it. There has been nothing more than rumored sightings, which have all turned up fruitless.”

“I’m not lying! It’s really her…she’s here.” Rose breathlessly pleaded, reaching into her pocket to produce the ring she took from Alix earlier.

Elijah looked at the ring in her hand before he quickly snatched it from her, releasing her throat from his grip as he inspected the ring closely. He studied the ring, looking for any indication that would prove this was a fake. The troubling part was, he couldn’t find any.

It was the same ring he gave her on the eve of their wedding. After Klaus admitted to killing her, he placed the ring into her jewelry box, burying it along with all her other important possessions in a secret location, one that he was only privy to…or so he thought.

Rose leaned against the wall, steadying her breathing as she watched Elijah with a cautious gaze.

1ea3f2cc8fd14ea5250ff9a190c16ec5

“Are you certain?” He asked quietly, looking up from the ring to Rose.

He stared at her, eyeing her closing to spot any signs that showed she was trying to play him. He didn’t want to get his hopes up, only to have them savagely ripped from him.

“It’s her. She was wearing the ring around her neck when we found her. But I feel there is something I must tell you about her.” She licked her overly dry lips before continuing. “While she responded to ‘Alixiah’, she has not recollection of us, or that time. I think instead of killing her, like Klaus claimed, he tampered with her memory.She’s..she’s been having snippets come to her when she sleeps, but she doesn’t understand what it means.” Rose calmly explained.

Elijah tried in vain to keep himself in the room, to keep himself from tearing the house apart to find her. He felt the deep burning anger and hatred boil up inside of him, thinking of Klaus. Klaus would pay…he would see to it personally. And then this thoughts flew to Alixiah as it was all finally sinking in…she was here, really here. Within his grasp after five hundred years…his wife was alive.

“Bring her to me…please.”

It was the ‘please’ that got to Rose. Elijah could be many things; ruthless, dignified, honorable. But it was rare when he was making a deal with someone who had wronged him that he said please.

Rose nodded, calling out for Alix.

(*Alix POV*)

Having witnessed the whole scene and hearing my name being called, I felt suddenly nervous about this whole thing. I was just a few feet away from finding out what happened to me, but I was terrified of what was going to be expected of me once I was out there. I don’t remember what I was like five hundred years ago, and I didn’t want to tarnish someone’s memory of me by not being that person.

If I really wanted to, I could ‘zap’ myself out of here and no one would be the wiser, but I couldn’t leave Elena to fend for herself…that girl would end up getting herself into more trouble.

Hearing Rose call my name again, I took in a deep breath, forcing my legs to move.

Pushing against the wonky door, I found that it revealed a tiny hallway that led directly into the room where Rose and Elijah currently were. I entered the room, slowly taking my time as I came face to face (in a manner of speaking) with the man who had plagued my dreams for the past year.

I felt my heart rate pick up as I looked at him, feeling it beat against my chest so violently I thought for sure that it was going to launch out of my chest like a cartoon character.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw Rose holding her breath, waiting to see if something was going to go wrong.

I stopped a few short feet in front of him, wanting to keep some distance between us. I could feel his intense gaze upon me, so I looked up our eyes locking onto one another. As soon as our eyes connected, it felt as if I had known him for years. He didn’t feel like the stranger he had when I first arrived into the room. I may not remember our time together, but somewhere deep inside of me, I knew Rose had been speaking the truth earlier.

“Leave us. I’ll be with you shortly to deal with the other matter.” Elijah commanded, never once taking his eyes off mine.

Rose hesitated before she left the room, heading back to where Trevor and Elena were. Elijah continued to keep his gaze fixed upon me as he quickly closed the distance between us. He lifted his hand, ever so gently pushing on the left side of my jacket, exposing my shoulder to him. I didn’t breathe, I didn’t dare move, I kept my gaze focused straight ahead as I felt the pad of his thumb trace the pattern.

“It really is you.” He murmured in amazement, leaning down as his lips grazed the my shoulder.

I took in a shuddered breath as my body began to respond to his simple yet very intimate touch. The sensations he was invoking felt strangely familiar, as if trying to remind me that this was how I used to feel when he would touch me.

As my body was slowly losing its self to the sensations, my hand moved up to his head, pushing themselves through his soft brown locks. He pulled back from my shoulder, bringing a hand to cover mine as he guided it his cheek as he leaned into my touch.

“I…I know you.” I spoke, my voice barely above a whisper, enthralled by the mere presence of him.

“Yes, sweetheart. Just as I know you. I…I didn’t think I would ever see you again.” Elijah whispered, a sadness creeping into his voice.

I felt his other hand graze across the back of my neck, his touch electrifying my nerves. Ladies and gentlemen, it was in that moment that my brain shouted, ‘I wonder what his lips would feel like against mine.’  You shut your dirty mouth brain…we barely know this guy.

Before I knew what I was really doing, my brain seemed to take over my body to fulfill its lustful idea, as I felt myself closing the distance between our lips. The moment our lips touched, I felt a spark shoot through my body, as if awakening something that had long lain dormant. When the rational part of my brain broke through, making me suddenly very aware of what was going on, I pulled back.

“Oh, Jesus. I am so sorry. I…I don’t know what came over-” I didn’t get a chance to finish my sentence as Elijah’s lips covered mine enthusiastically.

The-Vampire-Diaries-4x18-American-Gothic-elijah-and-elena-34097969-245-200

Gasping at the suddenness, he took the opportunity to slip his tongue into my mouth. The hand was on the back of my neck now wound its way into my hair, holding me tightly to him as I grabbed onto the front of his jacket.

We parted a few moments later, knowing that he still had unfinished business to see to. Elijah placed a chaste kiss on my lips before he spoke.

The-Vampire-Diaries-4x18-American-Gothic-elijah-and-elena-34097898-500-240

“Will you wait here for me while I finished with Rose?”

“Yes.” I said simply. He gave me one last look before he left me alone in the room.

Once he left the room, I exhaled the breath I didn’t know I was holding. My head felt dizzy from all the whirlwind events. One moment I’m just me…the next I’m someone’s supposed wife….then I meet supposed husband. Do you remember me mentioning brain overload…yeah it’s happening. I stumbled over to the chair, deciding it was better to sit down than pass out on the grungy floor.

As I sat there, trying to wrap my head around what had just happened, I heard the creaking from a floor board which caused me to look up. There in the foyer was Stefan and Damon, frozen mid-motion as they had picked up on my presence. The look on their face must’ve matched mine…confusion.

Damon swiftly moved to me, motioning me to be quiet and he lifted me up off the chair. There was a feeling in the pit of my stomach, this dark dreadful feeling…something was about to go horribly wrong.

the_twisted_path_group_babe_ruthless

the_twisted_path_group_matt_horwich

The Orphan Killer 2 Bound x Blood Created by Matt Farnsworth ©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
The Orphan Killer 2
Bound x Blood
Created by Matt Farnsworth
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC

Matt Farnsworth on Facebook Matt Farnsworth on Twitter Matt Farnsworth on Instagram Matt Farnsworth Films Madness is in the Eye of the Beholder

Diane Foster on Facebook Diane Foster on Twitter Diane Foster on Instagram Slasherlicious Join today Slay Forever
The Orphan Killer on Facebook The Orphan Killer on Twitter The Orphan Killer on Instagram TOK Family on Twitter
Join The Orphan Killer for news, reviews articles and more
The Orphan Killer Steelbook is available now! The Orphan Killer on Vimeo The Orphan Killer on YouTube

Visit Malevolent Magazine An amazing Horror Site – Visit Karin’s Wonderful World of Horror Cat’s Doghouse – A Place to Howl
“The characters Marcus Miller, and Babysister are owned by Matt Farnsworth”
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC All Rights Reserved

B3KWaP2IEAAiMFC

Crash Palace Productions –

Fear Is In The Mind

408173_348527711901523_1952763067_n

Visit C. William Giles site today and read ….Of Tortured Faustian Slumbers

Leave a Reply

