Unmasking The Truth: Early Morning Confessions

Author Note: This is what happens when you have writer’s block on another story and over indulge on TVD courtesy of Netflix. I swear I was only watching for the background noise…and then this happened…*sobs* I own nothing but my OC…I wonder if I could use her for world domination…I’ll get back to you on that.

“It is in the early morning hour that the unseen is seen, and that the far-off beauty and glory, vanquishing all their vagueness, move down upon us till they stand clear as crystal close over against the soul.”-Sarah Smiley

I awoke from my slumber with a start, gasping as a light sheen of sweat coated my body. It was the same dream, the same one I’d been having for the past year. Though it didn’t seem like a normal dream, it felt almost as if I was reliving a memory. I didn’t recognize the people or the surroundings, but it all felt familiar.

The one thing that kept standing out to me was the man, the man with the hypnotic brown eyes, his wavy brown hair that fell to his shoulders, framing his face. It was like his name was on the tip of my tongue, though it eluded me at the same time.

c611ddb16946dd7c34b83ecb3c063bb3

The dream took place in a castle, dimly lit by candlelight. The women were clad in dresses that seemed to be made of vibrant, rich colorful fabrics. It was always the same scene replaying every night, but when I awoke, I could only vaguely remember little details.

Why would I dream about someone I’ve never met? Why would I keep having the same persistent dream, night after night?

I shook my head to clear my thoughts as I scooted myself to the edge of the bed. Stretching my muscles, I craned my neck to glance at the clock. 4:15 A.M.  I rolled my eyes, letting out a dejected sigh. Well, I guess there is no going back to sleep for me. My body had this really annoying habit of once it was up, sleep was a distant memory.

Pushing myself up off the bed, I padded over to the chair to grab my rob that I haphazardly tossed last night on my way to bed. Shrugging it on, I walked out of the room into the hallway, tiptoeing my way to the stairs.

With every soft step I took, I was rewarded with a loud groan from the protesting wood. I cringed, making a mental note to remind Damon that he really needed to fix it. Walking into the large open living room, seeing that the fire was still roaring from last night, but no one was around. Can we say fire hazard?

d2bb5f84cad045bfb3e5c66a8404fb43

I walked over to the table hidden behind the large leather couch, grinning as I found the stash of bourbon. As I poured myself a small amount into a glass, I was suddenly aware that someone was behind me. Without turning around to see who it was, I spoke.

“Hello Damon.”

When I didn’t hear him respond, I turned around to see his shocked expression, causing me to chuckle.

“How in the hell do you do that?” He asked.

“Oh come on, Damon. After all these years of friendship, you still haven’t figured out that I can sense you?” I asked, pretending to be hurt by his lack of observation.

“Oh no, sweetness. I remember you being able to do it. I’m just trying to figure out the how part.”

“I don’t know. I guess it’s one of the perks I inherited from my dad.” I shrugged, taking a sip from the glass, enjoying the bourbon’s slow burn. Damon looked at me, arching an eyebrow.

“A little early to be hitting the bottle, isn’t it?” He remarked sarcastically as he moved to pour himself a glass.

9cf146dfcb3c0906fca4a1754eaa0162

“Seeing as you have no coffee, I have to make do with what’s available. Besides, I’m pretty sure that it’s five o’clock somewhere.” I grumbled, moving to sit on the couch, drawing my legs up against my chest.

I’d only been back in Mystic Falls for a little over 24 hours, after receiving Stefan’s frantic phone call, asking me if I would stop by and help. That phone call couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. After dealing with some issues of my own, I was ready for a vacation, to throw myself into something that didn’t involve demons or the Apocalypse.

An unpredictable, psychotic vampire sounded like an interesting case.

3c684bf9ae87be7c531dc0f1d32a588c

Damon flittered to the mantle, leaning his weight against it as he stared into the roaring fire. I watched as the shadows of the flames danced across his distraught features. Katherine’s unannounced return was taking its toll on him, as well as those around him.

f7a5fa99fff65c5915af0f4b2ade91a5

“Do you want to talk about it?” I offered, knowing that he would refuse, but still putting the offer on the table. He looked conflicted, as if inwardly debating if he really did want to talk about it or just shove it deep down like all the other times.

I watched as he drained his drink in one gulp, setting the glass down harshly on the mantle. He turned around, swiftly moving to the empty spot next to me, resting his head against my shoulder.

“I’m so tired of talking about things. Everyone wants me to open up and ‘express’ my feelings. So, how about we skip the touchy, feely emotions and talk about why you’re up at the ass crack of dawn, hmm?” Damon suggested with that seductive smirk I had missed so much.

c4fd6f05d882a0acb8cacf9dbae4937c

He was great at trying to divert the situation to avoid talking about things.

“I couldn’t sleep. I’ve been having this re-occurring dream for a while, but the more I experience it, the less it feels like a dream.” I sighed, taking another sip from my cup as Damon took my unoccupied hand into his, toying with my fingers.

“What do you mean?” He asked, not taking his eyes off whatever game he was using our fingers for.

“I mean, it’s like I’m watching it all play out through my eyes, like I’m reliving some long-lost memory in first person. Does that make sense?” I arched an eyebrow as I gently pulled my hand away from his, wanting him to stay focused on the conversation. Damon made a weird face before he answered.

“Uh, Inception much?”

“Oh ha, ha, very funny. I don’t know, maybe I am going nuts. Hell, I’ve been living on the road for the last four years, seen things you could only imagine.”

“Speaking of which, I’ve been meaning to ask you about that.” He turned his head towards me, focusing his gaze on me.

“Ask me about what?” I asked, eyeing him cautiously.

“The things you’ve seen, I mean, what else is out there?” His simple yet loaded question caused me to ponder how I was going to explain to a vampire that they were the least of anyone’s problems, that there are worse things out there lurking in the dark?

“Do you remember all the folklore, all those scary stories you were told or read about as a kid?” I asked, staring straight into those deep blue orbs. He nodded for me to continue. “Well, that’s what is out there. I’ve seen creatures that I thought only existed in a book.”

959c3bee822e57045f25951394d40835

He looked off to the side, seeming as though he was deep in thought with what I had just told him. Over the years, we had kept in touch. He knew what I was…to an extent, he received the cliff notes version. I had kept from him what was really going on with me, that I was being hunted. I came here wanting to focus on something else other than my issues.

Damon turned his gaze back to me, opening his mouth as if to say something but was interrupted by the vibration of my cellphone coming from my robe pocket. Shifting around, I pulled it from my pocket as I glanced at the number. Sam.

“I’m sorry, but I need to answer this, it’s Sam.” I apologized as I stood up, leaving the room.

Taking the steps two at a time to get back to my room for a little privacy. I realize how nearly impossible this was, being in a house with vampires, but I had placed a sound muffling spell on the room I was staying in.

“Hello?” I answered breathlessly.

“Alix? It’s Sam.”

“I know that. I figured that part out when your name popped up on the caller I.D. of my phone.” I replied sarcastically, moving to the bed as I laid down on my back.

“Such a smartass.” He grumbled.

“I’m aware of this. So, what’s up?” I smiled to myself, wondering what he was up to.

“I just wanted to talk to you, you know. I’ve missed you.” Sam’s tone carried something with it, something that told me this wasn’t just a courtesy call.

“I’ve only been gone a day, Sam. You can’t have missed me that much. So, do you want to tell me what’s really going on?”

Hearing Sam sigh on the other end told me I was going to like what he said next. I braced myself mentally.

“I forgot just how forward you could be. So, I’ve been talking to Bobby about, you know, your dreams.” He spoke carefully, testing the waters for my reaction. I sat straight up on the bed.

“Sam!” I shouted in annoyance.

“Hear me out, Ali. I was thinking about how you said it was like a dream, but at the same time it wasn’t. How it seemed almost like a memory, but not one you could recall. Well, I wanted to get Bobby’s opinion on my theory.” I closed my eyes, pinching the bridge of my nose.

“Alright, so what is this grand theory of yours, Oh Great One?” I snarled.

“I think that it may be a memory, yours in fact. I think there is a possibility that someone did something to make you forget.” Sam theorized. His theory, in a weird way, made sense. But instead of making me feel better it made me have more questions.

“Okay, maybe it’s possible. What’s Bobby’s take on this shiny theory of yours?”

“Well, he seems to think that it is possible.” I was quiet for a moment after hearing this.

What did all this mean?

“Okay, so let’s say your little theory is correct, I’m having memory flashbacks in my sleep. What happened to me that I would lose a part of my memory? Why wouldn’t I be able to recognize those people?” I asked, flustered as I tried to rack my brain for the answers.

“I don’t know, Alix. Maybe someone purposely tampered with your memories. I mean, you are quite old.” I didn’t miss the humor that laced the tail end of his sentence. Yeah, I read between the lines…asshole.

“I’m going to overlook the fact that you basically just called me an old woman, because I’m more interested in knowing if I can regain them.” I retorted bitterly.

“Ah, well Bobby thinks that you can retrieve them, but you’re going to need a witch’s help for that.” Well, there is a bright side to things after all.

“I might know a witch who can help with that, but it’s going to have to wait until after we resolved our other pressing matter first.” I said, my tone taking on a more hopeful sound. At least I had some answers, granted not the ones I really wanted, but I was going to take what I could get.

“How’s that going?” Sam asked amused.

When I made the decision to leave, I had told him a little about things here…purposely leaving out the fact that there were vampires residing here. Didn’t need those two barreling into town, guns a blazing.

“Well, I haven’t had a dull moment yet. How are things on your end?”

“Quiet, actually. You’re going to love this, I’m working as a busboy at a bar, not a hunter bar, just a regular one. Oh, and it gets even better, there’s a girl here who’s been trying to chat me up every time we work together.”  I didn’t even bother to hide the giggle that flew out of my mouth as I imagined Sam being a busby, dealing with an overly excited Chatty Cathy.

“What is it with you and Dean?! I swear to God, women just fawn all over the both of you! I’m way hotter than you two, and I end up with jack squat.” I exclaimed in disbelief as Sam cackled in the background. Glad to know that my lack of a sex life is humorous to you.

“Oh please, princess! My luscious locks are way better than yours. The reason you don’t get laid is probably because you have what looks like an engagement ring hanging around that neck of yours.” Sam teased.

e5c8647344f4bd504f3895a0df07dc95

A few years ago, I stumbled across an old jewelry box in a hidden compartment of my closet. When I opened it, I nearly fell on my ass because it was filled with a bunch of antique jewelry. When I picked up this ring, I felt a pull towards it. So rather than wear it on my finger, I placed it on a chain.

“Yeah, okay, let’s go with that. We’ll just overlook the underlying jealousy you have because you aren’t classy enough to rock it like a badass. Besides, women only like you two because you’re easy.” I countered.

“Oh, okay, whatever helps you get through those long lonely nights. Look, I got to go. You take care of yourself and call me if you need anything.”

“Yeah, yeah, yeah. I’ll take care of myself, Mom.” I couldn’t resist the last-minute jibe.

“You’re such a pain in my ass, but I love you.”

“Damn straight.”

the_twisted_path_group_babe_ruthless

the_twisted_path_group_matt_horwich

The Orphan Killer 2 Bound x Blood Created by Matt Farnsworth ©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
The Orphan Killer 2
Bound x Blood
Created by Matt Farnsworth
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC

Matt Farnsworth on Facebook Matt Farnsworth on Twitter Matt Farnsworth on Instagram Matt Farnsworth Films Madness is in the Eye of the Beholder

Diane Foster on Facebook Diane Foster on Twitter Diane Foster on Instagram Slasherlicious Join today Slay Forever
The Orphan Killer on Facebook The Orphan Killer on Twitter The Orphan Killer on Instagram TOK Family on Twitter
Join The Orphan Killer for news, reviews articles and more
The Orphan Killer Steelbook is available now! The Orphan Killer on Vimeo The Orphan Killer on YouTube

Visit Malevolent Magazine An amazing Horror Site – Visit Karin’s Wonderful World of Horror Cat’s Doghouse – A Place to Howl
“The characters Marcus Miller, and Babysister are owned by Matt Farnsworth”
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC All Rights Reserved

B3KWaP2IEAAiMFC

Crash Palace Productions –

Fear Is In The Mind

408173_348527711901523_1952763067_n

Visit C. William Giles site today and read ….Of Tortured Faustian Slumbers

Leave a Reply

