Methuselah’s Wife

Long doth thou linger

In and out of the gardens

Do the saccharine sweet blooms

Tantalize thy senses 

Make you yearn for what will never

Be yours

 

Begone ye foul wretched cur

Thou appearance prescience

To Darkness befalling us all

Permeates the air

Back thou Devils Afterbirth

Abomination 

 

She sees him as Angel and Demon

Salvation no matter how you slice it

 

The cold-hearted bitch, inside 

sees him as Angel

Unseeable beauty

 

The sappy romantic, 

Sees him as Devil

Unthinkably evil

 

Her head says perfection

Her heart says kill him

 

He seizes her, squeezes her

Whispers I’ll put you to death

 

She shows him her jagged toothsome grin

Forked tongue undulating. Glistening

Body arching as they meet

Drains him as he jitters against her

Wrapped in her loving embrace

the_twisted_path_group_methuselah

A gruff throat clearing startles me from my head and I break eye contact with my phone to meet the gaze of a suspiciously handsome man.  Why suspicious you ask? Because he was the exact vision of the man I’d just had devoured in my freshly finished poem.  And he was hardly dead. 

I smiled and said hello, inviting him to join me.  He nodded and sat close to my side, holding out a bright white rose before lifting my hand to his lips. Queerly old-fashioned and appealing, his lips lingered on my skin. I pull my hand gently away, and found only a momentary hesitation in releasing if. 

“Have we met before? You seem oddly familiar to me.  My name is…” His finger covers my mouth, silencing my words with a shake of his head. “No names?”  He nods and I stand, leaving him to sit by himself. This is not a game I wished to play.  

Exactly three steps. That’s how far away I got before I hit the grass face first, the air rushing out of my lungs as he lands hard on my back. My ribs ache from the pressure and he flips me over just as I hear them creak alarmingly.

 

In The Woods
In The Woods

The rest is lost in time. We stayed together for a century or so, travelled, ate exotically, sampling local fare whenever we could, animals when we couldn’t.  Then one day, while visiting Paris, again, he vanished. It’s been 116 years, 6 months, 127 days, 13 hours and 11 min since I last saw his face.  There have been others, over the years.  We still see each other, on occasion, but there is never a word of his whereabouts. 

Perhaps he is gone, or beheaded in some well somewhere.  The Breathers have become very aware of our presence in the city, often minds set strictly on eliminating us.  

We are not all the same. Somewhere, somehow, someday perhaps we will come to an agreement for the safety of we who do not feed on humans. I made the change decades ago. But until then, we move in the shadows, under cover of night, and out of sight of Breathers wherever possible.

Excuse me, it’s dinner time…..

the_twisted_path_group_methuselah

the_twisted_path_group

The Orphan Killer 2  Bound x Blood Now In Production A Matt Farnsworth Creation Full Fathom Five Studios
The Orphan Killer 2
Bound x Blood
Now In Production
A Matt Farnsworth Creation
Full Fathom Five Studios
“The characters Marcus Miller, and Babysister are owned by  Matt Farnsworth”
©™ Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC
Full Fathom 5 Productions LLC All Rights Reserved
Leave a Reply

